VMware Horizon Community
dward4
Contributor
Contributor

How do I package an App Volumes Package that stores license meta data in c:\users\UserID

Environnment:
APP VOLUMES 4, VERSION 2111 (4.5.0.77) 

vSphere Client version 7.0.3.00600

(Noob here, probably a noob question) I have an app volumes issue. I'm installing a package that at the end of the install writes licensing meta data to C:\Users\USERID, which during app install is an admin account. Assigning said package to a user has the application that was packaged show up, but of course the user doesn't have access to the admin C:\Users\Admin space and so the licensing file which was created isn't accessable. Is there a way to package an application so that file gets dropped in C:\Users\whoever, where whoever is the person who has been assigned the package and is trying to use it?

Thank you very much in advance!

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
kmgp
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi,

The packaging process does not capture \Users and hence you might be seeing the issue.

What is the application that you are packaging?

GURU

Views expressed in here are my own.
0 Kudos
kmgp
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

To make sure that the needed file is available at %userprofile% for each user, you might want to consider a GPO approach.

Keep the needed file at a shared location and then define a GPO to copy this file.

Do the following at the AD.

1. Keep the licensing metadata at a shared location available to all users. Lets Presume that the license metadata file is metadata.xml and it is in shared location is \\a.b.c.d\License.
  2. Create a new GPO.
  3. Edit the GPO.
  4. Goto User Configuration -> Preferences -> Windows Settings -> Files.
  5. New -> File
  6. In the new File properties,
    • Choose Action as "Create",
    • Enter the source file as \\a.b.c.d\License\metadata.xml and
    • destination file as %userprofile%\metadata.xml
    • Click Ok
  7. Logon to the end point machines the applications might work.