VMware Cloud Community
Joost_Verdaasdo
Contributor
Contributor

All virtual machines swap between freeze and run

Hi All,

Sorry for the strange title but its not so easy to explain whats happening.

Basically all vm's on my esxi server suffer from the same problem. When I work in a VM the following happens:

• Sometimes I can work great for a few minutes

• Then the VMWare freezes (maybe swapping problem) when you look in taskmanager you see that all processes are not responding

• Then all of a sudden its gone again

• and loop

I'm not a big expert on esxi so its very possible I've made a huge misconfiguration. I could of course try to explain how I've configured my esxi server but perhaps this behavior sounds familiar to someone and perhaps the discussion can lead to possible areas of investigation?

I hope someone has an idea and thanks for your answer.

0 Kudos
12 Replies
mikelane
Expert
Expert

How much RAM does your ESXi server have and how much is being used by your virtual machines?

While I was running vSphere 4.0 I had 8Gb of RAM - I would try to leave 2Gb for vSphere and the rest for virtual machines (even though according to my summary memory usage I still had some free).

0 Kudos
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the Forums - I agree with mikelane that it sounds like you are having memory contention issues and your VMs are utilizing their per vm vmkernel swap files - one thing ave you installed VMware Tools in all your VMs?

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
0 Kudos
Joost_Verdaasdo
Contributor
Contributor

Hi guys thanks for the welcome and your help.

The general setup of the server is this:

• 5 Resource pools

• Each resource ppol has 1 VM

• Each VM has 2 GB memory availble