VMware Cloud Community
aitidina
Contributor
Contributor

Starting VM in multihead system from any of the heads

Hi everyone,

This question may be trivial, but as a new user to vmware, I have no clue about it.

The point is the following: we have 4 PCs at home, and instead of renewing all of them, I would like to build a multihead system running ESXI in order to vitualize 4 vms, one for each PC we actually have. Each vm will have a head consisting of a dedicated monitor (with GPU passthrough) and USB hub (for connecting mouse and keyboard), and each head will be in a different room. And because of this, it is a requirement that I can start a vm from the heads; this is, with just the keyboard and mouse.

My concern is: is it possible to do that, or do I need to interact with the server through vmware Sphere client -or something alike- if I want to power up a vm?

As I said, I have no experience with ESXI. I do plan on installing it in a spare computer and trying everything I've mentioned, but I haven't done it yet. So any help would be much appreciated.

Best regards

0 Kudos
3 Replies
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

Your usage of the term "head" is so far outside the usual range that reading your post leaves me puzzled.

If I assume that head = a computer that runs the ESXi operating system

then your statement

> we have 4 PCs at home, and instead of renewing all of them, I would like to build a multihead system running ESXI

> in order to vitualize 4 vms, one for each PC we actually have.

either makes no sense at all or is simply impossible.

I would suggest that you rephrase your question without using the term "head"

0 Kudos
aitidina
Contributor
Contributor

Okey, second try, here I go.

First of all, sorry for using the wrong terminology; as I've mentioned, I am totally unacquainted with this ambit.