VMware Cloud Community
Cr0n_J0b
Contributor
Contributor

vSphere on WIN7 Ultimate 64-Bit console hangs after minimize

I'm noticing something strange.  I'm rather new to ESX, so forgive me if this is a dumb questions...but...

I have ESXi 4.1 running fine on my server.  I have a couple of guests, linux, windows and BSD.  I've noticed that when i open a console, and then minimize it to work on another system, it will become unavailable.  I'm using vSphere 4.1 258902 and WIndows 7 ultimate 64-bit.  The hangs are not 100% consistent, but are regular enough to be annoying.  I can see the object in my taskbar and in the toolbar, I can even see an image of it when I alt-tab, but when I try to click on it i get nothing but an alert bell.  I can close the console out and open a new one without an issue, but I'm hoping there is a fix for this or I'm just doing something dumb

thanks

20 Replies
GaneshNetworks

Things looks strange.

I haven't came across this kinda problem. Anyway, I will do the following things if i come across:

• Reinstall your vSphere Client.
  • Check if there is enough space available in local desktop and VC
  • Reinstall Dotnet framework ( I am not sure that this will help you, Anyhow it will take few clicks so try it on your own risk )

Thanks,

Ganesh

~GaneshNetworks™~ If you found this or other information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful".
0 Kudos
harryj
Contributor
Contributor

I too have been suffering from hangs when using the console.  Generally when installs fail and I need to power cycle.  If I power cycle from the console, the console hangs.  If I power cycle from the vSphere GUI, it's fine.

This happens on multihosts and multiple client sites, so I don't think it's an individual client problem, but bugs in the vSphere client.

0 Kudos
idle-jam
Immortal
Immortal

i'm a bit confused, can you explain the console and gui? are you referring console to the command line console of ESXi?

0 Kudos
harryj