VMware Horizon Community
TomHafemann
Contributor
Contributor

Persona and Folder Redirection philosophies

Hello all,

I am new to VMWare view and all of its glory, and am a bit stumped on how to handle Folder Redirection, and all the ways to do it.

I have had a traditional workstation/server environment.  Each user has a single workstation and signs onto it, and their entire profile is contained on that workstation.  There is no folder or profile redirection.  Sometime in the past with this company they tried roaming profiles and since then, they never wanted to do anything else.

Well, with VDI, we know that with Persona, we can have their profile on a directory share, and as a part of the persistent disk...I believe.  Initially we thought that the persistent disk was only going to contain Appdata.  As it turns out, it contains the ENTIRE profile by default...at least with what we have set.  We see that a test user's entire profile is set on the profile share, and it kinda acts like a roaming profile....kinda.  When a user logs into a workstation, they get that Persona.  When they log into a VDI session, they get that persona.  However...this is okay with a new virgin user.  What about those users that have a 50 gb profile because they saved everything local?  Our persistent disk is only 5 gb.  There is no way that they can have a 50+ gig persistent disk....so we thought...folder redirection.

We already know about the folder redirection stuff in Windows.  Yet there is a folder redirection thing in the vmware persona group policy too.  Which one should we use?  I have looked up and down the internet and it seems like there is bad and good to them both.  What happens to those people who sign into both a computer and a VDI session at the same time?