VMware Horizon Community
varmap
Contributor
Contributor

Provisionig a new VDI fails (fails at customization)

Hi All,

First of all i am fairly new to VDI. My friends who are providing a solution/advise please try to be little descriptive on your answers.

This is the scenario, we have a golden image that has been used for sometime now in building up new VDI's. we had this new requirement to develop a new image from the user's VDI (which is really a bad idea). The whole point is to use this image for the future VDI deployments.

I had to do the cleanup of that user's VDI and then convert it to a template, then used this template. When using this template/image for the new deployments i get this message (see the attached file) and the customization fails. The system is ready in the VDI but without any customization ( doesn't join the domain). i got this error from the events in the web console.

Vmware view 4.6

Steps I tried:

Uninstalled VMware view agent (did reg cleanup too), Vmware tools , rebooted, installed vmware tools, rebooted, installed VMware view agent , rebooted  - still the same error

Verified the windows 7 hotfix - already installed

windows upto date.

did the sysprep registry hack.did the registry cleanup too when cleaning the users VDI.

I did this 10 times and i got the same error all the 10 times. exception being once it joined the domain or worked fine.

Any ideas? did i miss on anything?? please help me with your thoughts.

Thanks,

Varma

0 Kudos
3 Replies
netjim66
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Here's what I'd do:

1. Stop provisioning on the pool.
  2. Clone the users VDI, then logged in and removed it from the domain.
  3. Change the machine name.
  4. Do not sysprep.
  5. Make sure View Agent is installed and running.
  6. Remove NIC
  7. Add new NIC
  8. Make sure new NIC is in the right VLAN as the other VMs you have.
  9. Rename this machine with an "_VM" at the end.
  10. Delete old template you have that isn't working, but note the name.