VMware Cloud Community
ibanezdiego
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare disconnect WinSCP

Hi

I have a problem. I tried to copy virtual machine to my local computer using WinSCP (with ssh). Everything is ok until the Bytes transferred get to 476 MB. So a message box appears, "Host is not communicating for more than 15 seconds. Still waiting... Warning: Aborting this operation will close connection!". I reviewed the WinSCP configuration but I could not to solve the problem. I think the problem is configuration in the server side, in VMWare... but I don't know how to solve. Please help me, I'm new with Vmware, I search in the web but I can't find the solution. Regards

0 Kudos
8 Replies
nanair01
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Bud,

How are you trying to copy the VM?

Which OS is VM running on?

Where is this VM running on? on ESX Server or .....

If you find this post helpful/rectify your problem do not forget to award points

If you find this post helpful/rectify your problem do not forget to award points
0 Kudos
ibanezdiego
Contributor
Contributor

Hi nanair ... the virtual machines are in VMWare ESX Server 3i versión 3.5.0. The virtual Machine that I need to copy is a Debian Server. I connect to VMWare ESX with WinSCP (like putty) using SSH connection. So I can see all files and directories of the Debian Virtual Machine, then you can select the file that you want and drag it to the local machine. I attach two image, in the first one you can see how you can to drag the files of VM to your local machine. In the second image is the Error message... I only can copy files less than 476MB. how I can to solve that? thanks for your help

0 Kudos
nanair01
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Alright, I understood what you are trying to do. But do you have a VMware workstation running on your local computer. If you are copying the files to run the Debian VM on your local computer, there are two options

1. Using V2V Converter by downloading the Converter Plug in or