VMware Cloud Community
sean1017
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

some random newbie questions

hello all,

this is my first post and i'm fairly new to VMWare so forgive me if i misspeak or post in the wrong forum.

The basics - I am running VI3 and plan on having two servers in the production enviornment so we can take advantage of vmotion and some of the other cool VI features. We are using a netApp filer for our SAN in the production enviornment.

Our plan is to virtualize all our mission critical servers to make DR a piece of cake (on paper at least Smiley Happy). We will eventually have a ESX server in a DR site as well as an equalogic SAN. We would've liked to have had similar SANs but the budget didn't quite allow for it this year. we will be replicating VMs between production and DR using ESXReplicator software.

Anyway, my questions are the following:

1) What is the best way to move a VM from one LUN to another LUN? the first VM i created i did it on a test LUN and now i want to move it to the production LUN.

2) Along those same lines, my production LUN is now almost filled and I'm nowhere near done P2Ving my servers so I need to increase it. I assume i first increase the LUN on the Netapp side, and then what? how do i get the ESX server to notice the new space? i tried rescanning but it didn't work.

3) re: vmconverter, how does vmconv deal with the inconsistent nature of what it does? in other words, if i hot clone a server, the entire time that it's being cloned the physical server is still working and therefore i assume there will be differences between the virtual clone and the physical server by the time it's done. the few servers i've P2V'd already had DBs stored remotely so i wasn't so worried about this but now i'm about ready to do a DC and an LCS server both with locally stored info.