VMware Cloud Community
pscsuk
Contributor
Contributor

Free ESXi or VMWare Server

OK, for a start, I'm a Windows techie, so, while I've used Linux a bit, I'm not a expert, so be gentle with me Smiley Happy

Previously, I've used VMWare Server a bit. This is because (a) it was free earlier than ESXi, and also I've tended to 'add' another virtual server into an existing configured server for our own use, so it was easier to install VMWare Server onto an existing Windows Server installation, than to reinstall everything from scratch.

However, now, we're getting a new Proliant ML350, with the aim of consolidating 4 old (ie 700MHz P3..) physical servers onto it. As we're getting this 'blank, there are three options I have:

- Windows 2008 with HyperV

- Windows 2008 with VMWare Server

- Free ESXi

I've pretty much dismissed HyperV, so we're left with the choice between VMWare Server and Free ESXi. Budget is an issue for us, so we wouldn't be wanting to be spending thousands of dollars on virtualisation software

VMWare Server has the advantage that I understand it, and things like backups etc are easy because I can just shut down the guest and copy the files to another directory on the host in a couple of minutes, restart the guest, and back those up separately.

ESXi has the advantage that it has higher performance etc, but, from what I've read, ESXi without the costly Virtual Infrastructure + Virtual Center has limited management options, and things like backups seem to be slow/complicated.

From what I've read, ESXi with Virtual Infrastructure is great for multiple hosts, and VMWare Server is good for test and simple things, but the '1 host, multiple production guest' scenario seems to fall between the two scenarios.

Any thoughts would be welcome.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
TiagoAviz
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

pscsuk,

You're totally, absolutely right on every line you wrote. I currently killed four physical servers using the VMware converter + VMware server duo.