VMware Cloud Community
cSonnierEsxi
Contributor
Contributor

Need to get more out of my NIC's in ESXi, please give me suggestions!

I am fairly new to VMware ESXi and am having some troubles "perfecting" my setup. My ideal setup would include: All "Koco" Machines on there own switch using their own nic, and the other servers, seperate using their own nic. I will be installing another nic and set it up for my iSCSI targets which at this point is not my worry.

Right now when I run VM's on my second switch I only get traffic out of one NIC. I assigned one nic to each switch but still am only getting activity out of NIC1.

Please if you can lend any suggestion to get more out of my nic's that would be greatly appreciated.

I provided two screenshots below that may help you understand where I sit.

*( I know there are vm's powered on the second switch but it makes no difference cause the traffic all goes out NIC1)

Thank you in advance!

0 Kudos
9 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the Forums - If you have assigned a single physical NIC to your virtual switch than of course the network traffic will only go out a single physical NIC - can you provide a screen shot of your network configuration form the VI Client -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
0 Kudos
cSonnierEsxi
Contributor
Contributor

I attached a picture of my network setup in my previous post. If you need another please let me know. Sorry if my first post was not clear. I have 2 nics and 2 switches, I want the machines on vSwitch 1 to use NIC 1 only and the machines on vSwitch 2 to use NIC 2 only. If that clears things up a litte.

Switch1==========>Nic 1 (only)

Switch2==========>Nic 2(only)

I do need all machines to remain on the same subnet.

Thanks for the response.

0 Kudos
weinstein5
Immortal