VMware Cloud Community
Finch
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

using ESX RAID drivers in ESXi?

Hello everybody,

Im still very new to ESX and I'm currently evaluating ESXi 3.5. So far, it seems to be working fine Smiley Happy

Now my question is: If a RAID controller is supposed to support ESX, does that mean I can also use it in ESXi?

Specifically, I'm talking about the 3ware 9650SE mentioned here: http://www.3ware.com/KB/article.aspx?id=14922

I have just installed ESXi and managed it from the "Infrastructure Client". (How) can I install a driver?

Thanks in advance,

Finch

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Gerrit_Lehr
Commander
Commander

Hi,

no you can not install any drivers to the ESX server and even if there would be way, it would not be supported. You should refer to the VMWare compatibility guides and use only supported hardware. The drivers are included with the VMKernel or the service console (depending on the hardware) and are shipped ready to go. VMWare does not supprt any changes to this. But afaik esxi should support the same hardware as esx. Can anyone confirm that?!

Kind Regards,

Gerrit Lehr

If you found this or other information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful".

Kind regards, Gerrit Lehr If you found this or other information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful".
0 Kudos
Finch
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

well... have you taken a look at the link I posted?

On the 3ware site, it says:

"9550: ... no plans ... to support ( this ) with VMware ESX server"

"9650SE: ( this ) will be supported. Software will be released on the 3ware web site summer 2008..."

So either they don't know what they're talking about or your statement is at least partially incorrect Smiley Happy

However, they only mention "ESX server" and I don't know if that'll be any help for ESXi? Does anybody know?