VMware Communities
jkahn117
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

New VM not booting from CD

Hello-

I am new to virtualization and to the Fusion product. I am trying to create a new XP VM, but each time I try to install the OS, the BIOS only seems to boot from the network. I have tried changing the boot order in the BIOS settings (CD was listed before network previously anyways) and have also tried burning my ISO image to a CD. The ISO image came from MSDN and I have used it before on a PC.

Any thoughts? I've been at this for hours and cannot seem to figure out what I am missing (probably something minor).

Thanks!

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
BP9906
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Sounds like your XP CD is not a "bootable" cd. Bootable CDs are specially configured CD specifically for booting purposes. Can you verify that this CD is really bootable?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
14 Replies
BP9906
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Sounds like your XP CD is not a "bootable" cd. Bootable CDs are specially configured CD specifically for booting purposes. Can you verify that this CD is really bootable?

0 Kudos
piebas
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I think the problem is the boot-order.

Try to boot the vm and press esc when you see the VMware screen, now you enter the boot menu and try to boot from cd.

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

I think BP9906's explanation is more likely, the default boot order has network last.

0 Kudos
Niag
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I have the same issue. No matter what I've tried I just can't get it to boot form CD/DVD. I know the media is bootable. The host machine boots from it without problem.

Regards

Gary

0 Kudos
rcardona2k
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution