Contributor
Contributor

Under VM Windows 7 x64 cannot load internet

OSX 10.6.4

Mac 2x3 Dual Core Intel Xeon

8 GB 677 MMz DDR2 FB-DIMM

VM Fusion Ver Version 3.1.0 (261058)

Windows 7x64

I'm a novice here in uncharted areas. Have had many issues with OSX/VMware and running some PC based software. This one has stopped me from running any Microsoft Suite Programs because the program (Windows) cannot gain access to the internet. If I drop out of VM OSX accesses internet without problems so it would follow that something is amiss between VM-Windows- and that mysterious thing called the virtual world.

Try to launch explorer... it fails...try to diagnose.. "A problem is preventing the troubleshooter from starting" I checked.... Went to VM/Virtual machine settings. Clicked on network.. Indications are Network (NAT) is operational. I have attached screenshot.

Where do I go from here? Should I try and reinstall VM or windows 7?

One curious observation. When I launched VM... Windows Resumes (as usual) VM indicated that an update was available. This indicates to me that VM has access to web but when I try to update VM with windows it dies unable to connect to internet.

Thanks,

mturner

0 Kudos
5 Replies
ProPenguin
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Honestly if you havnt tried it yet try the bridge setting out. I have always had better luck with the bridge setting than NAT.

0 Kudos
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

Here is a test I like to tell people to try to help start to see where the issue may lie. Using this test it eliminates anything being mis-configured in the Guest OS as one is using a Live OS ISO Image and nothing needs to be configured besides taking all the defaults as one walks through the process with this in mind.

Download the dsl-4.4.10.iso (50 MB in size) image from DSL Linux and create a new Other Linux 2.4.x kernel Virtual Machine and just take the defaults as you walk through the New Virtual Machine Assistant.