VMware Communities
stage
Contributor
Contributor

Upgrading my Windows program

Hi Everyone,

Here is the deal. I'm very new to this and only started today because I want to use a program that only runs on Windows. I went on ebay and bought Windows 98 thinking I'd be ok using that but just found out I need a newer version of Windows. My question is, Can I buy an upgrade disk to Windows XP and upgrade on VMWare or do I need to buy the actual version (FULL) I need.

Thanks for any information you can give me.

Luis

0 Kudos
1 Reply
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

Technically you can use a Windows XP Upgrade CD however there are limitations.

1. You cannot use an Upgrade Disk to install via Boot Camp Assistant.

2. You cannot use an Upgrade Disk to install via Fusion's New Virtual Machine Assistant using Windows Easy Install.

An easy way to use the Upgrade Disc is to create an ISO Image of both the Windows 98 and Windows XP CD and although you can just use the physical CD's to install from the process is faster using ISO Images.

You do not need to first install Windows 98 in order to use the XP Upgrade CD (or ISO Image).

Using the New Virtual Machine Assistant do a manual install (uncheck Use Easy Instal) and when XP wants to verify your eligible for the Upgrade then temporarily swap CD's or ISO Images and follow through with the prompts.

The following information is provided to help with creating ISO Images and other potential issue that may arise in the process of installing manually.

====================================

First of all you need to be sure that CD is bootable and if you make an ISO Image then follow the directions below.