VMware Performance Community
techmepk
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

VMmark3.properties input parameters queries

Hello. 

I am very new to VMMark, I have been trying to understand all the parameters inside the vmmark3.properties and making sense out of them, but i need clarifications on few to ensure i have the right input parameters for my first run.

1. does the CLientCluster and SUT cluster both need to have private network enabled for them?

2. XVMotion and SVMoation LUNs do they need to be coming from ClientCluster OR SUT cluster?

3. ProvisioningDatastores needs to be coming from which cluster? SUT?

4. what about the Deploy LUNS they are needed for ClientCluster only ?

0 Kudos
7 Replies
fredab2
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

1. does the CLientCluster and SUT cluster both need to have private network enabled for them?

Yes, there needs to be private network that the client VM connects to the workload VMs on in the SUT cluster which is ther same network that the workload VMs communicate between each other.

2. XVMotion and SVMotion LUNs do they need to be coming from ClientCluster OR SUT cluster?

SUT Cluster 

from page 60 of users guide and commented inside Vmmark3.properties file:

SVmotion/SVMotionLUNs = <name of datastore to use for sVMotion workload; must be  different from the datastore(s) used for the Standby VMs>

XVmotion/XVMotionLUNs = <name of datastore to use for xVMotion workload; must be different from the datastore(s) used for the DS3WebA VMs>

3. ProvisioningDatastores needs to be coming from which cluster? SUT?

Both. - all workloads need a datastore(s) on the SUT cluster to provision VMS as well as client VM needs a datastore for the client VM on the client cluster.

4. what about the Deploy LUNS they are needed for ClientCluster only ?

Deploy LUNs would be on SUT cluster.

0 Kudos
techmepk
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Thanks @fredab2 for your response. appreciate it.