VMware Communities
Zorg292
Contributor
Contributor

Problem - VM can't see host, host can't see VM

First of all a total noob in using and setuping VMware player here :smileygrin:

Now I have a problem that I can't seem to overcome. Here is it -

I'm using Qemu ver.0.7.2. with VMware player ver.3.1.3-324285. I have a winHP on Host machine and win2003 on guest machine(win2003 installed on VM). Now since I'm using this at work we have a fixed IP adresses used on computers so I had to manually change TCP/IP data on both host and guest NIC - IP address, subnet mask, default gateway and preferred DNS.

On host machine I changed info for VMware Network Adapter VMnet8 and for guess machine for Local Area Connection (since there is only this NIC)

And after that I was able to access internet from VM (which I couldn't do before).

I forgot to mention that I was able to ping all computers in workgroup from both host and guess even before manually setting IP address.

After manually setting IP address I'm able to ping everything from guess machine

Now the problem is that I can't access host machine from VM or VM from host machine.

I can see all other computers in wokrgroup and access them from both host and guess but transfer between host and guess is not available.

example - I have attached 2 pictures

VM to host.jpg - its all other computerin workgroup (which is called FARAMLOGIST) that I can access

VM to host 2.jpg - when I try to acces my host computer (Sinisha_G)

I tried searcing for the solution for the past couple of days but was unable to find it.

I also attached 1 picture - ipconfig /all runned on my host computer.

If its needed I can attach more pictures.

Anyone had similar problem?

Or more importantly - solution? :smileygrin:

/tnx all in advance

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Zorg292
Contributor
Contributor

forgot to mention that network adapter in VMware player is set to bridged

0 Kudos
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

you have assigned strange IPs !