VMware Communities
jonniehack
Contributor
Contributor

Hi there - Newbie Here

Hello

Newbie here just setting up virtual environments for studying purposes. (70-290)

I was wondering if you could answer a couple of questions for me.

I have set up 2 machines in VMWare Workstation.

1: XP Pro

IP: 192.168.1.4

Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1 (My Router)

DNS1: 194.168.4.100 (Copied from the router status page, I'm assuming these DNS addresses are from the router/ISP)

DNS2: 194.168.8.100 (Copied from the router status page, I'm assuming these DNS addresses are from the router/ISP)

2: Windows Server 2003

IP: 192.168.1.3

Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1 (My Router)

DNS1: (Copied from the router status page, I'm assuming these DNS addresses are from the router/ISP)

DNS2: (Copied from the router status page, I'm assuming these DNS addresses are from the router/ISP)

I have set this to be a Domain Controller using dcpromo and following the steps in my book

I have set the domain as "home.network"

HOST MACHINE: Windows 7 Ultimate, 64bit

IP: 192.168.1.5

Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1 (My Router) (192.168.1.2 is the IP of my home network printer)

I managed to get a bit of connectivity between the machines. For example the XP machine can ping the server/printer/router, and log onto the domain (I think) but not the host machine. The Server though cannot ping the XP machine or the host machine. Which is my first question - Why?

And my second question, Its clear that my XP machine can "see" the server machine as, for example, if I add a new user in AD on the server machine, lets say "JOHN SMITH" and set the password so that it must be changed the next time the user logs on. I can go to the XP machine log on as John Smith, it prompts me to change the password but then says "Domain home.network cannot be found"

Any Ideas? I am still learning and am fairly new to all this so please be gentle. Thanks for any help!

0 Kudos
3 Replies
RParker
Immortal