VMware Communities
alexanderz2000
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

showing 8 cores max on 16 core WS2019 Server

Hello all,

I'm new to to this community but need some help with with workstation pro 17.5, I downloaded the trial to test it out before I purchase the software to get things up and running. However, my only issue is that application that the VM is hosted has 2 processors 'HPDL360 Gen9' with 8 cores each, 16 cores total, when i configure any other clients, W10, W11, Server 2012 and Server 2019, the software will not let me configure all 16 cores regardless of the configuration combination i try, it always says VM will fail because it's configured to use more Virtual processor cores than the host supports.   That can't be true, my server has 2 processors with 8 cores each = 16 total, any know whats going on?  

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Mikero
Community Manager
Community Manager
Jump to solution

FWIW, you can only assign as many cores as are available on a single CPU.

Without hyperthreading, in your case, that means 8.

With HT, you now have 16, but not 32.

-
Michael Roy - Product Marketing Engineer: VCF

View solution in original post

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
alexanderz2000
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

OK, solved my own question but nowhere to be found on the net, we all know Virtualization needs to be enabled in the BIOS but it's not stated that 'Hyper Threading' also needs to be enabled.  Once I enabled it, I was able to use all my cores on each client.   Just FYI for someone that comes across this same issue. 

0 Kudos
Mikero
Community Manager
Community Manager
Jump to solution

Without hyperthreading, in your case, that means 8.

With HT, you now have 16, but not 32.

-
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
alexanderz2000
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution