VMware Cloud Community
lnsysad
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

vCenter 4.1 xp x64 to vCenter 5.1 2008 R2

Hi,

I want to upgrade out vCenter 4.1 to vCenter 5.1 but the problem is, vCenter is currently installed on xp 64bit.

I have setup a new VM running windows 2008 R2 and installed vCenter 5.1 but am stuck on how to migrate the data over.

I could not link the vCenter servers because it said that 4.1 was not compatible with 5.1

I have tried a full backup and restore of the DB using SQL management studio but now the vCenter services won't start on the 2008 server.

I'm quite new to vCenter/vSphere so I'm not sure how to go about migrating the current configuration.

I had a look around and most topics talk about inplace upgrades, migration tools etc, but these don't seem to work with XP x64.

Please help.

p.s. Our hosts are currently esxi 4.1. I wanted to upgrade vCenter before I upgraded the hosts. Is this the best way?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
nive1103
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

No big deal. Have both vCenter Server's vSphere Client connection in place, create the datacenter/folder/cluster structure you want in your new vCenter.

Disable HA/DRS in the old vCenter Server's clusters. Select hosts one by one in the old vCenter, right click, remove.

Go to new vCenter Server, configure cluster settings, right click cluster, add new host and voila.

Repeat the steps until you complete building your environment.

Finally check for any additional plugins you need to install/enable in your new vSphere Client.

Regards, Nivedan

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
14 Replies
William22
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Hi

Welcome to the communities.

I hope you are in right track , but some time it create problem specially 64 bit & 32 bit case.

please share vpxd.log & SQL version you are using .

to find out possibility cause.

"With normal actions you get normal results."
0 Kudos
lnsysad
Enthusiast
Enthusiast