VMware Cloud Community
Kltaylor
Contributor
Contributor

Editing of .VMX files on ESX3.0.1

Sorry if this has been discussed prior, but I'm new to the ESX and have not been able to find this in the documentation or in any of the groups.

Is there a way to set the ESX server up where users can edit the .vmx files without having to have root privileges. When I set up the system, The dir and files under it is are set to rwxr-xr-x root:root, and users need to be able to edit the .vmx files. We utilize ESX in a lab where they have to redo things often and on some software loads they have to go into the .vmx file and change the NIC or other details to get it to function properly.

But I need to find a way for them to be able to do this without having to have root access.

Thanks

0 Kudos
5 Replies
JacquesCronje
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

You can store the vmx files in a different location - create a guest with a vmx in a different location and use WinSCP to set permissions on vmx files if you're not comfortable with CLI. create a Linux user account called "vmxeditor" or something and give it rights to vmx. This should keep your vmfs safe. Otherwise you could write a script to sudo nano "enter vmx filename here".

0 Kudos
JacquesCronje
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

PS - I'm not really sure why your users need to do this, so I left out the best practise bits, i.e. why can't they use snapshots, use VI client to edit settings, etc....

0 Kudos
Kltaylor
Contributor
Contributor