VMware Cloud Community
dellthinker
Contributor
Contributor

New to VMWare

Hi all, I'm a long time Linux user and will be forever so I use apps that are normally open source and what not. However I'm also a avid Windows Network Administrator with a Bachelors and Certifications and years of experience with Microsoft operating systems, I don't take sides to either OS I just find their weakness and strong points. In my situation I recently got a Dell Inspiron 1440, this laptop is built for Windows 7 however with a 500GB HD and Dual Pentium I took advantage of virtualization. So I installed Debian as my host and several versions of Windows as my guests. Turns out that Linux hardly supports this laptop and in order for me to fully experience it to the full capabilities I would have to install Windows 7 again as host. From one tech to another that's no big deal right, as long as I can install a virtual machine so I can enjoy both OSes right? Well up until today I've been using VirtualBox and their still weeding out issues with it. The whole reason I had to install Win7 as a host is because my Vista desktop wouldnt go completely full screen for whatever reason. So I installed Windows 7 x64Bit and it's running the way it's supposed to. I'm not naive by any means and I'll always try anything that 'works'. So I said all that to say this, I'm not happy with VirtualBox anymore and I've heard a lot about VMWare. What I'd like is someone to suggest to me what I should use as far as VMWare products for a Windows 7 x64Bit host. I'd like to know if anyone out there is using a Windows x64Bit host with VMWare and I'd like to know their experience. Thanx in advance!

0 Kudos
3 Replies
khughes
Virtuoso
Virtuoso