VMware Cloud Community
dpasion
Contributor
Contributor

ethernet doesn't have a valid ip configuration

Hello, I'm completely new to VMware. I just created a new VM and i'm trying to get it connected to the internet. It currently says "Ethernet0 doesn't have a valid IP Configuration".

Tried to going into the command prompt to did:

• netsh winsock reset
  • netsh int IP reset

Disabled the ethernet and re-enabled it, still not connecting

- says that i have limited connection.

Am i missing anything within the settings of the VM?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Alex_Romeo
Leadership
Leadership

Hi,

Do you have a DHCP or fixed IP?

To surf the internet you need to set the router's IP address as the gateway.

If you have a dhcp, try setting the network parameters manually (Tcp / Ip, subnet mask, gateway and dns)

ARomeo

Blog: https://www.aleadmin.it/
dory_fish
Contributor
Contributor

Spent a couple of hours on this problem today, and I'd like to share one possible solution.

In case your VM uses Bridged network connection (Network Adapter: Bridged (Automatic)) -- chances are that is uses wrong internet adapter of your host system.

First, shut down your VM. Then, in VMware Workstation window, open Edit -> Virtual Network Editor... menu.

Click on "Change Settings" (requires admin rights).

Bridged connection type should appear in the list (like VMnet0: Bridged -- and it's not even displayed before you click on "Change Settings").

Select it, then find "Bridged to" drop-down list below, click on it and select the proper physical internet adapter of your host system in the list.

Click Apply, then OK, then you may start your VM again.

That solved the problem for me.

Of course, this will work only if you have a problem with bridged connection, but in any case I encourage you to know about the Virtual Network Editor window, which is not in any way advertised by VMware Workstation during setting up your VM.