VMware Cloud Community
Buck1967
Contributor
Contributor

INTEL vs. AMD with ESX 4.1

I've been chasing a performance issue the past few days and ran into a weird issue. I'm running a win2008R2 image on a ESX 4.1/HP ProLiant BL465c G7 blade. I could not get anywhere close to the performance that a similar physical got (3xslower). After emptying my bag of tricks to resolve the issue, I decided to try it on a ProLiant BL460c G7 blade. Without any modifications to the image it immediately ran in par with the physical. Has anyone else seen anything similar? I'm new to this particular infrastructure, which has all AMD based ESX hosts. The prior infrastructures I supported were Dell servers running on INTEL. is there something simple that I might be overlooking?  I did verify virtualization support was enabled in the BIOS. Is there anything else that I may need to verify? I can’t believe that AMD procs run that much differently than the AMD.

Buck

0 Kudos
7 Replies
JohnADCO
Expert
Expert

I can see no reason that would really be.    We run a datacenter of all Intel and a separate data center with all AMD and we have moved lots of machine back and fourth.

Do all other machines seem to behave on the 65??   Or was this a first sort of test VM?

I'd be hitting HP support up big time.   When I have trouble shot HP blade VM performance issues?  It's almost always ends up being the dang flex network or what ever they call it, configuration and /or driver issues with it.

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Do you have any vmware.log files from the Intel hosts?

0 Kudos
Buck1967
Contributor
Contributor

I'm not sure why you would need INTEL logs, it is the one process fine,,, I might be missing something here,