VMware Cloud Community
saunders
Contributor
Contributor

Virtual Center Starts then Fails

Hey everybody, I am having a really tough issue and I was wondering if somebody could help me out. I have spent a while looking over all the documents I can find, with no help so far.

We are running Virtual Center 2.5u3 on a Windows 2003 R2 EE host, running with Sql Server 2005. After the upgrade from 2.5u2 to 2.5u3, I was having trouble with the Vmware VirtualCenter Service. When then service is started as a "Local System account", the service starts up just fine, but after about 5 seconds, the service fails. When I start the service as a local administrator account, the service starts up and runs just fine.

According to the vpxd-x.log, I am getting a "[VpxunhandledException] Win32 Exception Access Violation(0xc000005) detected at Data execution (8) error at address 000000". A few lines later, and I get a coreDump file and the service quits on me. When the service runs as a local admin, i dont get any of the win32 errors and things seems to run fine.

I have tried to repair the installation of Virtual Center, along with double and tripple checked my ODBC settings. Looking over the logs, it looks like communication between the service and the database is working fine. I dont have any other services running that would cause a port confliction.

I am at a lost as why things would work fine as a local admin account, but not work as a local system account. The host is joined to an Active Directory domain, but Virtual Center does not have any AD accounts registered with it.

My last ditch option is to backup and reinitilize the database, but I am trying to avoid that at all costs.

Thanks again for any assistance

Saunders

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

if you haven't seen this KB, maybe it will be helpful

http://kb.vmware.com/kb/1003926

0 Kudos
saunders
Contributor
Contributor