VMware Cloud Community
algaspar
Contributor
Contributor

Active Directory and vSphere 4.1u1

I'm new to VMware, and I am just beginning to set up our environment.  Experimentally, I brought up an ESXi host and added it to one of our domains.  It is working fine, and I have successfully installed a VM on it.  So far so good.

We are eventually going to be installing vCenter and bringing up a total of six ESXi hosts, but for now, I wanted to set up AD authentication for administerig the host using my vSphere client.  I can go to the Permissions tab for my ESXi host, pick Add Permission, pick Add, and I can see the list of our domains (we have quite a few).  The odd thing is that in one domain I can find users and groups; however, in the domain where the ESXi host is located (and where the users and groups are that I want to use), the search finds nothing at all.  I can go into AD in both domains, and I can see the groups and users just fine, but a search in vSphere only finds groups and users in the one domain.  Does anyone have an idea what my problem could be?

Thanks--

Al Gaspar

0 Kudos
7 Replies
EXO3AW
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi Algaspar and welcome 🙂

Although i never experienced such an issue, it might be worthwile to check the following:

- Is the OS hosting the vCenter Server properly joined to the domain ?

- Are all DNS settings correct ?

- Do you have the correct AD rights to browse all domains ?

- Does the following workaround pull off:

"Put <Domain\User> into a NEW LOCAL group <SYSTEM\vCenterAdmins>"

"Give <SYSTEM\vCenterAdmins> the necessary vCenter rights" ?

Furthermore you might check if the problem is the same the other way round, which means some reconfiguration of the system and the vCenter service.

Please report back with your outcomes

0 Kudos
algaspar
Contributor
Contributor

I thought I added a comment to my original message, but it seems to be gone.  In any case, here it is again...