VMware Cloud Community
stilmon
Contributor
Contributor

Best Raid Practice

Hello,

I'm somewhat new to the vmware world. Here is a breakdown of our system.

we have 3  Dell R610 on 1 Md3200 with 15000K drives 24 drives total

we currently have 40 VM's. now is it best practice to have them set is sets of raid 0  for best performance?

for example   12 sets of raid 0 to = 24 drives.    then we layer our vms on the raid 0's.  3 on each as example? or better to make them all raid 5.  our applications require high disk i/o

0 Kudos
8 Replies
JarryG
Expert
Expert

Putting everything on raid0 is imho not the best practice, because it does not give you any redundancy. If any single drive in a stripe is lost, all data on that raid0-stripe are lost too. So I'd recommend to use at least raid5, or raid10 (if you can waste some disk-space). If all your drives are equal, you could put one or two aside as global hot-spares, and use all others for a few raid5 spans.

If your apps are i/o sensitive, you should use some kind of serious caching (~1GB cache on raid-controller is not enough). I think Dell uses re-branded LSI-controllers, so something like LSI CacheCade might come handy (caching on ssd). One more nice feature is "hybrid raid1", that is raid1-mirror with ssd+hdd supported by some controllers: ssd is used for i/o, and hdd is slowly synchronised in the background. Of course, it depends on your budget...

_____________________________________________ If you found my answer useful please do *not* mark it as "correct" or "helpful". It is hard to pretend being noob with all those points! 😉
0 Kudos
stilmon
Contributor
Contributor

IM sorry, i meant to say raid 1

0 Kudos
Josh26
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

stilmon wrote:

IM sorry, i meant to say raid 1

Dear God I'm glad you said that.. I shudder every time someone here recommends RAID 0 "for performance".