VMware Cloud Community
Deepseadata
Contributor
Contributor

Datastore confusion - VM Guest folders **bleep**show

Hi there,

I'm a novice who's inherited a really messy storage and EXSi installation. I'm trying to identify folders and files (which are being backed up...lol) to delete and, more importantly, identify what folders my Guest is actually using. The VM's I see on the EXSi host in questions are DomainController_New, MYKA-SVR002 and MYKA-SVR003. Here's a snip of what (I believe) is the Qnap's hosting the files.

What the hell is all this crap?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
pcgeek2009
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

So it almost looks like they took the disks of another VM in the same folder and mounted one of them to the current VM. Do you see the 4TB not only mounted, but in use inside the domain controller? If it is just mounted and not online or inuse, you may be able to create a new folder, remove it, and "move" any reference to "new" to that folder to try to clean this up. It does look like a big mess. Personally, being a domain controller, I would build a new server, promote it to a DC, and migrate the FSMO roles if this DC is hosting them. Then, decommission this mess. 

0 Kudos
NateNateNAte
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

First off, love the subject title.  Well played.  

I agree with @pcgeek2009 that the best solution is to build a clean DC, promote, migrate rules, demote the old DC and decommission. It appears as if several domain controllers were built, just looking at the naming convention. It's not clear from your screenshots if those are still in use, but a quick look at your active DC should help resolve that investigation.