VMware Cloud Community
Cuore_Sportivo
Contributor
Contributor

New to vCenter with questions

Hi everyone!

I am new to vCenter and I have a couple of (stupid maybe) questions. I had been using ESXi 5.5 (free license) at my home server until yesterday, that I downloaded and installed a trial version of ESXi 6 plus vCenter 6 server.

My first problem is that I cannot access my server by using my domain name (provided by a DDNS service). Whenever I try to connect via the domain (either by a browser or mobile Watchlist), the server is not responding. If I just type its local IP, I will connect just fine. I should mention here, just in case, that during vCenter's installation, I filled FQDN's box with the local IP address. While I was with ESXi 5.5, everything was working just fine.

Second question has to do with VW compatibility. I upgraded the compatibility at a couple of VMs and now I guess I will be unable to edit the hardware when using the old client, right?

Since I don't have a license for vcenter, I plan to just use free ESXi after vCenter's license expiration. Is there any way to downgrade VM compatibility?

I've also noticed something extremely weird.

When I sign in vCenter, many times my keyboard will stop responding. More specifically, I will be able to press the F keys and the Ctrl, Alt etc, but when I type letters and numbers nothing happens.

I'm almost certain that this has nothing to do with my desktop (Win 8.1 Pro), since it started happening yesterday, when I firstly signed in vCenter.

Anyone ever noticed it before?

Thanks for your time!

Any help is appreciated.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
RichardBush
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hi, to answer the second question.

The Version 6 C# will allow you to edit vmware hardware 11 (or below), this is a host client and you connect directly to the ESXI host.

Rich

0 Kudos
RichardBush
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

For the first question i think more details are required..