VMware Cloud Community
kayotee
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

RAID Controllers, Performance Issues and drivers.

Hi Everybody,

I' ll beging by admitting that I am new to VMware.

I decided to build a standalone ESXi 4.1 server based on Intel's S5520HC board.

http://www.intel.com/products/server/motherboards/s5520hc/s5520hc-overview.htm

I used 5 Seagate 1TB SATA HDD 7200rpm 32MB cache connected to the MB controller. Of course ESX could not see the RAID so I used this:

http://www.intel.com/products/server/raid-controllers/SROMBSASMR/SROMBSASMR-overview.htm

I connected the 4 HDDs in a RAID 10 conf and used this driver during installation in order for this controller and R10 array to be recognized.

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=18453&ProdId=3148&lang=eng&OSVersion=...

I installed ESX on the 5th drive and also assigned the spare capacity as a 'scratch' datastore. I configured ESX to use this datastore as swap for the VMs. I also added an iSCSI datastore on a homebuild storage based on Openfiler using similar drives (RAID 10 setup) . All net connections are Intel gigabit on 3Com gigabit switches. So we have 3 datastores. 1st is on a single drive, 2nd is on hardware RAID10, 3rd is on gigabit iSCSI. The read and write performance of the 2nd datastore was dire. It was much lower from both other datastores. (read or write would not exceed 20000kBps as seen on vSphere client performance tab.

I decided to swap the controller with on that is natively supported by ESX, so I used Intel's RS2BL080

http://www.intel.com/products/server/raid-controllers/RS2BL080/RS2BL080-overview.htm

so I used 4 same drives and RAID 10 setup and the performance was even worst.

I noticed that ESX used the same driver from the 1st controller since they are compatible. (megaraid sas)

I would like to permanantly unload/remove this driver and let ESX use its native one, without reinstallation of course.