VMware Cloud Community
AngelC2
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

New VI3 Infrastructure Setup - Need Tips on Network Design

I'm new to VMware, just finished up VI3 training and I'm starting my first deployment so I have questions regarding best practices or even better examples of how to setup networking for my environment.

I'm hoping someone has either a similar environment or enough experience to give me some examples on how I can set it up, so I can then evaluate different solutions and choose the right one for me.

My environment will consist of 6 production ESX 3.5 Enterprise host servers, 2 test/dev ESX 3.5 Standard host servers, one VirtualCenter server. I'm running on HP hardware and using Fibre Channel SAN for storage of VM's and for now I just need to get the Test/Dev environment setup and I'm using one ESX server for that.

My network is a flat one consisting of 2 subnets...production is split up between trusted servers (10.x.x.x) and DMZ (192.168.x.x). I have my service console and VMKernel port (for SAN & Vmotion) configured on the same default vSwitch0 and I'm anticipating putting in a seperate switch for VM port groups but that's where I'm not 100% sure. I'm thinking I will need another switch for DMZ servers, etc. and will have a 2nd service console on it as well for redundancy.

Anyway, I hope that's enough info to get some good feedback on possible examples/scenarios of how I could configure my networking piece of my VI3 Infrastructure...thanks!

0 Kudos
14 Replies
ablej
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

How many pNICS does each server have?

David Strebel

www.holy-vm.com

David Strebel www.david-strebel.com If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful"
0 Kudos
azn2kew
Champion
Champion

It would be helpful to know how many NICs do you have to plan your networking setup. But generally speaking, at a minimum you have 4 pNICs which will conver the following combinations.

pNIC1->Service Console/VMotion

pNIC2->VMotion/Service Console