VMware Horizon Community
ditro2001
Contributor
Contributor

Golden Master Template - managed anti-virus solution

Hello together,

I'm new to vmware view Smiley Wink I'm planning to set up an automated desktop pool with provisioning. My question is:

I am going to install my golden master so complete as possible with my third party apps, right?

But what will happen with my managed anti-virus solution. I am using F-Secure with the F-Secure Management appliance where every Client is checked in by his unique number/name.

If I install the anti-virus in the golden master image what consequenzes will this produce in my antivirus management? Do I have only one client to manege, or do i get more clients??

hope you know what I mean Smiley Wink

regards

Dennis

0 Kudos
15 Replies
TomHowarth
Leadership
Leadership

can you install the client in Unmanaged mode in your master and then have it "phone home" during deployment of a linked clone, otherwise you will have either x# of clients all with the same machine name, this should not increase the Linked clone size too much as it should only be registry changes or perhaps a couple of files and a virus DAT update. also consider your policy on Virus Scans, you really do not want all your VDI Guests to kick off their scan at the same time. :smileygrin:

If you found this or any other answer useful please consider the use of the Helpful or correct buttons to award points

Tom Howarth VCP / vExpert

VMware Communities User Moderator

Blog: www.planetvm.net

Contributing author for the upcoming book "[VMware vSphere and Virtual Infrastructure Security: Securing ESX and the Virtual Environment|http://my.safaribooksonline.com/9780136083214]”. Currently available on roughcuts

Tom Howarth VCP / VCAP / vExpert
Blog: http://www.planetvm.net
Contributing author on VMware vSphere and Virtual Infrastructure Security: Securing ESX and the Virtual Environment