VMware Horizon Community
FCOETech
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

View 6.1 Disconnects, LF Troubleshooting tips

Full disclosure, I'm a tier 2 tech with some responsibility in maintaining our VDI. Not strong in View administration or understanding of virtual infrastructure (working on it). Could use some advice from those who do!

Recently moved to 6.1, seeing a lot of disconnects on Tera1, Tera2, and ThinPC (Windows ThinPC on various Dell Optis) after. We use a 3rd party service for VDI builds. I'm finding disconnects specifically to be a frustrating and difficult item to troubleshoot and would love some advice on where to start with this. Is it the VDI? View? The VM, vmx config, driver conflicts? PCoIP policies? Physical hardware, Tera1/Tera2? Firware related to the phyical hardware? The network? I try to do basic isolation and omission testing to quickly cut out variables, but often what works once doesn't in another test, or vice versa. I then question whether an issue presented in testing was actually transient and unrelated (true story, don't laugh, I once spent several days chasing disconnects before realizing users were unmounting their Ethernet adapters instead of USB drives from the safely remove hardware prompts in Windows.)

I timestamp and gather as much environmental info as I can when an issue occurs. When working with the View diagnostic log bundles, I see they pretty much grab everything from PCoIP messages to messages from the View agent and server, Guest OS events, policies, etc... What are some general tips and methods of troubleshooting disconnects you guys use? Are there some logs that will be more useful than others in troubleshooting disocnnects?

I've reviewed KB1030697:

1. Our power settings are set by policy and are as recommended in the KB. I verified these are enforced and getting to the machines.