VMware Cloud Community
mcamp001
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

SRM resources, local?

ok, I'm new to SRM, so this may seem like a stupid, obvious question, but when failing over to a DR site, does the DR Vcenter need to contain resources? Such as hosts, VM's, storage, etc. Up until now I have had a single instance of Vcenter for multiple sites, which works just fine, but after starting to go through the SRM config, no resources show up in the DR Vcenter I have put up, so I'm guessing that the resources for that DR site need to reside in that DR Vcenter?  

Some more info;

one copy of Vcenter with multiple sites to manage (site A)

DR copy of Vcenter (appliance) running in site B, but managed from Site A VC

SRM installed and paired Site A and B

When setting up resource mappings, nothing shows up in Site B.

So, the real question is; do I have to move the resources in Site B from the Site A copy of Vcenter to the Site B copy of Vcenter?

Does this make any sense?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
GreatWhiteTec
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Yes. You will need to have resources at the DR site. You will need hosts, storage etc. Storage should be replicating between sites so that the VMs are "copied" over to DR. SO when failover happen, the DR vCenter takes those copies of VMs and mounts them and makes them the new production VMs. Makes sense?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
GreatWhiteTec
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Yes. You will need to have resources at the DR site. You will need hosts, storage etc. Storage should be replicating between sites so that the VMs are "copied" over to DR. SO when failover happen, the DR vCenter takes those copies of VMs and mounts them and makes them the new production VMs. Makes sense?

0 Kudos
GreatWhiteTec
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution