VMware {code} Community
John_Swainston
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Newbie Question - VixCom 1.2 & Server 2 Beta 1

Hi,

I'm a complete newbie at using VIX, and have a hopefully simple question.

I am using WMWare Server 2 Beta (Build 63231), and want to create a c# app to control the VM's.

I have installed the server components on Windows 2003 Enterprise x64, and have a couple of VM's running on the server.

From my development machine I have been using VS2008 (RTM Version) to create a .Net 2.0 C# test app to connect to the server.

From various installs of VIX, Server & Workstation I seem to have three different VixCom.dll, all with version 1.0.0.1.

All the Vix versions I have seem not to have the 1.2. API documentation, but only the 1.1. The parameter I have seen on the forums to connect to the Server is "VIX_SERVICEPROVIDER_VMWARE_VI_SERVER", which is not a constant I can find in any of the DLL's I have. Also, the DLL from the server does not seem to work on my development machine - perhaps due to conflicts of x64 and x86 libraries?

FYI, I have installed (at various times)

Workstation 6

Server V1

Server V2

VIX api 1.1.2

VMWare-vix-e.x.p-63621.exe,

and get a VIX_API_VERSION of 2 for some dll's, and 3 for others.

As I'm new to this could someone tell me what DLL I need for this connection, and is it a VixCom.dll, or do I need to PInvoke a Vix.dll?

Sorry for the rambling message, but I seem to be going around in circles.

Thanks,

John....

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JPatten
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

The reason it is not showing as a constant is due to the VixCOM.dll you are referring to in your application. This can happen when you install a new version of VIX without uninstalling the old one.

Remove all references in your .NET app to VixCom.

I would use Add/Remove Programs and remove VMWare VIX and delete the folder C:\Program Files\VMWare\VMWare VIX. Then, run the VIX 1.2 setup (VMWare-vix-e.x.p-63621.exe).