VMware Networking Community
joshuabmaurer
Contributor
Contributor

NSX JSON Field Queries

Feeling like a noob here.

The goal of this exercise is to extract a list of VLAN segments and then to extract a list of guest VMs attached to these segments from the Local NSX Manager. With this information move those guest VMs to the Global NSX Manager VLAN segment.

API call, list of segments: GET http://{{local-nsx-mgr}}/policy/api/v1/infra/segments.

API call, list of segment guest: GET http://{{local-nsx-mgr}}/policy/api/v1/infra/segments/{{vlan-seg}}/port

This produced the json files: seg-list.json and vlan-seg-01.json. Eventually there will be more vlan-seg files once I get this rolling.

My delema is that I typically work from CSV files, running them through a for loop to create the over all CSV file to work from to push the configuration out.

I am stumped on how to work with the json file. For the seg-list.json, I want the "id" ( seg-vlan name ) collected to run the list against ports for server collections.

Tried to use a JSON to CSV vscode tool and Excel Get Data > From File > From JSON with no success. I do not know how to work with this JSON file. Any help or direction is greatly appreciated.

I was trying to do this work in PowerCLI but not sure if its my system or PowerCLI that was not allowing the queries. Also not sure if I would have received the data any differently.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
1 Reply
grahamrodrigue
Contributor
Contributor

@joshuabmaurer wrote:

Feeling like a noob here.

The goal of this exercise is to extract a list of VLAN segments and then to extract a list of guest VMs attached to these segments from the Local NSX Manager. With this information move those guest VMs to the Global NSX Manager VLAN segment.

API call, list of segments: GET http://{{local-nsx-mgr}}/policy/api/v1/infra/segments.

API call, list of segment guest: GET http://{{local-nsx-mgr}}/policy/api/v1/infra/segments/{{vlan-seg}}/port