VMware Cloud Community
vandreytrindade
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Export VMware information to an Excel file using PowerCLI

Hi,

I created a script on PowerCLI to extract information from VMware and fill a existing Excel file.

I'll show it here for two reasons:

1. Trying to get help on optimizing the code to make it better (I'm a beginner on PowerShell)
  2. Sharing script to people who is beginning on PowerCLI like me to exchange ideas =]

Steps to make it work:

1. Verify the path of the ConfigVirtual.xlsx file in the script (Row 76)
  2. Copy the existent worksheets to create new ones to match the exaclty number of physical servers you have on your environment (Source Excel file attached on the post)
  3. Rename the worksheets and the top right cell with the name of each of your ESXi servers (I've changed them to Server name, Server 2 name, etc...)
  4. Run the script on PowerCLI logged on every server with a user with root privileges on them (I've used a logon script)
    • $VMcred = Get-Credential

Connect-VIServer -Server server1, server2, server3, server4 -Credential $VMcred

Copy the text below to notepad, save it with .ps1 extension and run it =]

#Function to retrieve physical servers info

function HostInfo {

#$WorkBook01.Sheets.Item($ESXiServer.Name).Activate()

$TotalGB = $Null

$Datastores = Get-VMHost $ESXiServer.Name | Get-Datastore | Where {($_.Name -notlike "VMD*") -and ($_.Name -notlike "BKP*")}

foreach ($Datastore in $Datastores) {

$TotalGB += $Datastore.CapacityGB

}

($WorkBook01.Sheets.Item($ESXiServer.Name)).Cells.Item(7,2) = $ESXiServer.NumCpu

($WorkBook01.Sheets.Item($ESXiServer.Name)).Cells.Item(7,3) = ($ESXiServer | select @{N="RAM";E={[math]::Round($_.MemoryTotalGB,0)}}).RAM

($WorkBook01.Sheets.Item($ESXiServer.Name)).Cells.Item(7,4) = [math]::Round($TotalGB,0)

($WorkBook01.Sheets.Item($ESXiServer.Name)).Cells.Item(7,6) = "VMware "+($ESXiServer).Version+" build "+($ESXiServer).Build