VMware Cloud Community
Amadeus1756
Contributor
Contributor

Orphaned folders in a data store

I've been moving VMs around my datastores (using the GUI in VCenter - Migrate, change datastore) which seemed to work ok, but it looks like it's basically copied a machine, leaving loads (20+) of VM folders behind.

Whilst I'm confident (but that might be misplaced - I'm pretty new to Powershell and VMware tho I have written some scripts I'm pretty happy with) that I can find out the size of a folder on a datastore, what I don't know is how I can determine which of those folders is an orphan in terms of not being a machine listed anywhere in VCenter.

I'm not looking for someone to write this for me (tho if there is something already done which would allow me to get this information, I'll gladly save myself the time), more for guidance on how I can get this information.

As an aside, if anyone knows of a reason why this situation happens (even if it's a bug in VMware), I'd be glad to hear it.

Many thanks

Message was edited by: Amadeus1756 - correct spelling mistake

0 Kudos
8 Replies
MartinAmaro
Expert
Expert

here are two

http://sigtar.com/2011/01/21/vmware-finding-orphaned-files/

or

http://www.lucd.info/2011/04/25/orphaned-files-and-folders-spring-cleaning/

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful.
Amadeus1756
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks very much Martin - I'll take a look at them.

Rgds

0 Kudos
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

Make sure to run my script first without the Delete switch, that will list the files and folders without actually deleting them.

If you need further guidance, feel free to ask.

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

0 Kudos
Amadeus1756
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks Luc.