VMware Communities
nicomalkov
Contributor
Contributor

How to Guest-only Internet Access?

Hello Community

My goal is to get Guest connected to Internet while Host isolated from Internet. I have limited experience with Microsoft Hyper-V and it is possible with a single checkbox there. For the VMWare Workstation, I can't find any fresh recommendations on how to do this. My current Workstation network setting is "Bridged". 

I've already tried following this advice with no success: Using a network adapter only with the VMware Workstation guest virtual machine (1020359) If I disassociate the network adapter (Intel Wi-Fi on a laptop) from all the protocols except VMWare Bridge, the Guest Internet connection fades as well.

Please help me

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Gizzie
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

To have guest-only internet access on WS pro, I would use the Host-Only networking mode. This isolates the host system from the internet while still having internet access to the guest virtual machine.

0 Kudos
nicomalkov
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for your reply. Actually, the default configuration for Host-Only network isolates guest from lnternet, and I need exactly opposite. I read this https://docs.vmware.com/en/VMware-Workstation-Pro/17/com.vmware.ws.using.doc/GUID-93BDF7F1-D2E4-42CE... If there is a way to configure the mode to isolate host and enable guest, please share. 

0 Kudos
louyo
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

I would try giving the host phony gateway and DNS addresses. 

0 Kudos
jen2
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

not sure why you want to disconnect the host, but you have 2 options :

1- connect USB Wi-Fi Adapter to the guest, and disconnect the host.

2- use firewall to block all programs except vmware. i recommend Comodo, the firewall is free and the best, and full internet security is so cheap. or TinyWall if Comodo is difficult to configure

0 Kudos
nicomalkov
Contributor
Contributor