VMware Communities
Delusion
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare Workstation, VM, Switched off, Now tmp

Hello fellow VMWare Experts.

I am fairly new to the Virtual world and have only recently began my virtual adventure.

Question:

Recently I created a new virtual.  Everything was configured.  I powered down.  Now contained within the folder where my virtual machine resides is a tmp file which is slightly over 7 GIG, guessing the file became corrupt upon shutting down the slice. A backup/snapshot hasnt been created - Lesson learnt.

Have tried renaming the file to .vmdk

Have tried renaming the .lck folder

None of the above mentioned changes reolved my issue.

When i attempt to power on the slice.  I receive the following error:

File not found: BackTrack Custom.vmdk

This file is required to power on this virtual machine.  If this file was moved, please provide its new location.

Any ideas how this can be fixed?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Delusion
Contributor
Contributor

Got itchy and rebuilt the slice.  Would still be interested in finding out a solution.  If anyone is aware of one.

0 Kudos
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

Delusion wrote: Got itchy and rebuilt the slice.

What are you talking about, what is a slice?  A slice of pizza? Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
Delusion
Contributor
Contributor

Ha.  Wish it was.  A Slice as in a slice of data used to create a virtual machine within VMWare Workstation.  Sorry work terminology thought it was common ground.

0 Kudos
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

Sorry but your definition still doesn't make sense and the only place the word slice appears in the Workstation documentation is if you take space out of "Windows licensing" while deleting "Window" and "nsing". Smiley Happy

To me a silce of anything is less then the whole so with that in mind...