VMware Communities
Shell69
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

accelerate 3d Graphics

Hello, I'm new here and this is my first time posting a question. I have a new Dell G15 Ryzen 7 edition with an RTX 4060 graphics card. I installed VMware Workstation and created a Kali Linux virtual machine with GNOME. It worked perfectly at first, but after updating Kali Linux and everything else, restarting, and enabling 3D acceleration, my Kali Linux stopped working properly. Now, I mostly see a black screen, and even if it does work by chance, it lags terribly.

0 Kudos
35 Replies
ggilson
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi @Shell69,

Your host system, appears to be one of those laptops that have a iGPU + GPU combo, they usually come with an out of date graphics driver. This might be a host graphics driver bug  and updating your GPU drivers might resolve this, 

If that doesn't help, send a vmware.log of the vm running, and I can try to see if there's something I can spot.

Shell69
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

i already update the Nvidia to the latest version i tried everything 

0 Kudos
Shell69
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

How can i take the log while running the virtual machine

0 Kudos
Shell69
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

@ggilson hi please reply

0 Kudos
DhairyaT
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

@Shell69 Ticket has been raised internally, relevant team will look into the same.

Unable to reproduce the issue on 13th Generation Raptor Lake with I7 processor machine with Windows 11 as Host, I was able to install Kali Linux(Kernel version-6.6.9) as Guest. Internally upgraded the Kali linux VM by using commands sudo apt update and sudo apt upgrade,retsrtaed the VMs several times including Suspend/Resume, unable to reproduce the issue.
Kali Linux ISO downloaded from here-https://cdimage.kali.org/current/kali-linux-2024.1-installer-amd64.iso.

@Shell69 Once you reproduce this issue, please share support bundle here in this thread using below-

Help->Support->Collect Support Data

0 Kudos
DhairyaT