VMware Communities
Shell69
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

accelerate 3d Graphics

Hello, I'm new here and this is my first time posting a question. I have a new Dell G15 Ryzen 7 edition with an RTX 4060 graphics card. I installed VMware Workstation and created a Kali Linux virtual machine with GNOME. It worked perfectly at first, but after updating Kali Linux and everything else, restarting, and enabling 3D acceleration, my Kali Linux stopped working properly. Now, I mostly see a black screen, and even if it does work by chance, it lags terribly.

0 Kudos
35 Replies
Shell69
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

@DhairyaT Any update 

0 Kudos
DhairyaT
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

@Shell69 Will let you know once there is any update

0 Kudos
Shell69
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

@DhairyaT OK Thank you so much for replying

0 Kudos
Shell69
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

@DhairyaT Any Update it's been to long even i provided the video for information

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
DhairyaT
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

@Shell69 Awaiting response from Team, will inform if there is any update

0 Kudos
Shell69
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

ok

0 Kudos
snop
Contributor
Contributor

I can confirm this, 3D rendering stopped working with the latest mesa 24, I tried 3 different distributions (Gentoo, Fedora GNOME/KDE) with different Mesa versions, and is everywhere the same.

Look eg. https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1167102-highlight-vmware+kde.html

At first, I thought that it's a Gentoo packaging problem, but isn't. Yesterday I tried Fedora 39 KDE where is mesa 23.2.1 and it worked, then I tried Fedora 40 (beta) GNOME with mesa 24.0.1 and it completely froze VMware and I had to restart whole host system.