VMware Virtual Appliances Community
VMTN_Admin
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Personal Backup Appliance

http://www.vmware.com/vmtn/appliances/directory/321

Backup, Restore, or Clone the Hard Disk Drive of any Computer or Virtual Machine over the Network!

0 Kudos
287 Replies
Frantic
Contributor
Contributor

Yes I know, but I want my clients to boot over network without cdrom. Because my computers haven't got cdrom drives and no floppy drives.

I found how to make my clients boot over network but what is missing to me is the way to access your appliance after.

Maybe I must find a good vmlinuz or something else.

Sorry if I'm not clear, I don't know how to explain my problem because like I said before I'm not an expert in Linux.

0 Kudos
rxhui
Contributor
Contributor

When the PBA first boots up, firefox launches with a page describing 3 methods for launching the PBA client. Have you tried method #2? Method #2 is for the scenarios where you're booting your own linux over the network or from your own CD. Once your linux is booted from the network, you can launch the client, by running the following.

as root, do this

\# wget http://192.168.0.100/pba.sh

\# sh pba.sh

(NOTE: replace the IP address with the IP address of your PBA)

One caveat. For this to work, your linux needs to have the supporting files that the script calls (most distros do) (e.g. wget, sfdisk, dd). Let me know how it goes.

0 Kudos
Frantic
Contributor
Contributor

Yes that is what I tried but hum ... I installed PXE server with PBA maybe it is the reason why it doesn't work. Well I don't know how to explain what I want.

My client start over network until it finds the pxelinux.0 but after I don't have a "boot linux" so I don't have a prompt to copy the command lines.

Well maybe is it not clear enough.

(Sorry it is not easy to explain and I'm french so excuse me for my english)

0 Kudos
Serge_Couture
Contributor
Contributor

I gave it another try today and it worked!