VMware Cloud Community
shannonadams
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Cloning an existing VM?

Sorry for the novice question. I am very new to VMware and haven't taken a class yet. We are running VMware ESX Server version 3.5.0.

I have existing virtual machine running Windows 2k3 Server. I would like to make a clone of the VM, but give it a different host name and IP address. Will someone please lead me in the right direction on how to do this?

Thanks,

Shannon

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Hello Shannon, if you have VirtualCenter managing your host, you can shut down the VM, right click on it and select Clone. If you don't then you can use this procedure. You would run the vmkfstools command at the console or via SSH.

Copy a VM

1) Create a new VM with the specs you want and a small HD.

2) Edit the VM and remove the HD.

3) Copy the VMDK over from the source to new folder with vmkfstools -i /source_path/source.vmdk /dest_path/destination.vmdk

4) Edit the VM, add a HD and use an existing VMDK file - select the new VMDK that was created.

5) Power on the VM and run sysprep, etc.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Hello Shannon, if you have VirtualCenter managing your host, you can shut down the VM, right click on it and select Clone. If you don't then you can use this procedure. You would run the vmkfstools command at the console or via SSH.

Copy a VM

1) Create a new VM with the specs you want and a small HD.

2) Edit the VM and remove the HD.

3) Copy the VMDK over from the source to new folder with vmkfstools -i /source_path/source.vmdk /dest_path/destination.vmdk

4) Edit the VM, add a HD and use an existing VMDK file - select the new VMDK that was created.

5) Power on the VM and run sysprep, etc.

0 Kudos
aguacero
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution