VMware Cloud Community
Wilky_Boy
Contributor
Contributor

Expanding the system partition on a W2K3 virtual server under VI3.

Hi there,

I wonder if you can help. I have a Windows 2003 virtual server configured with a 10GB C: drive ( the system partition ). I would like to expand the drive to 50GB but I can not find a clear and definitive answer for whether this can be done. I have seen various articles recommending the purchase of a third party tool ( Partition Magic ). Could any of you folks let me know whether I need to purchase this software or whether I can just use the VMware tools. Apologies if this question has been answered in a previous thread but I just can't seem to find a clear answer. I am pretty new to VMware to any advice you can offer is really appreciated.

Regards,

Paul.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Cameron2007
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Power off the virtual machine that holds the boot volume that you want to extend. Make a backup copy of your virtual disk, this is optional but good practice.

From the service console, increase the size of the .vmdk virtual disk file.

# ls -lah test.vmdk

-rw------- 1 root root 5.4G Jul 18 13:57 test.vmdk Extend the virtual disk with vmkfstools. The input to the -X switch is the size that you want the disk file to be *not the size you want to extend the disk file by*.

# vmkfstools -X 10G test.vmdk

View the new size of test.vmdk

# ls -lah test.vmdk

-rw------- 1 root root 10G Jul 18 13:57 test.vmdk Within the guest OS

From the run menu type "diskpart.exe" to enter the command line utility to resize disk partitions in Windows Server 2003.

The command list volume will show you all the available volumes. Select your volume as shown below. select volume 1 corresponds to the "D" volume that to extend. Finally extend the volume with the extend command.

If all goes well, the partition will be immediately extended under the Disk Management snap in.

0 Kudos
rossb2b
Hot Shot
Hot Shot