VMware Cloud Community
JWEllis
Contributor
Contributor

Emailing vCenter Performance Stats

I have only a single ESX 4.0 host and vCenter 4.0 server in my DR environment to support DR for two of my production servers at the present time.

I am relatively new to the ESX environment and have been learning on the fly.

I can see the performance statistics for the ESX host server and the VMs deployed on the ESX Host server just fine but was looking for a method to email the performance data on a weekly basis to a Project Manager for inclusion into a weekly client report.  I can do a screen shot capture of the data manually but would prefer to automate the process.

The vCenter Server Settings for Mail have been configured and successful Telnet test from the vCenter Server to the SMTP Relay server has been completed.  I do not see nor have I read anything that tells me how to automatically send the performance stats to various email addresses on a regular basis.

Has anyone done this before?  If so, what did you do to accomplish this action?

Thanks,

JWEllis

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
maishsk
Expert
Expert

Hi and welcome to the forums.

You cannot email these statistics automatically from vCenter - there is no built in feature.

There are 3rd party applications that can do this for you.

The SMTP settings that you mentioned are used for sending alerts (by email when alarms are triggered) - and these alarms have to be configured seperately.

Maish.

Maish Saidel-Keesing • @maishsk • http://technodrone.blogspot.com • VMTN Moderator • vExpert • Co-author of VMware vSphere Design
0 Kudos
JWEllis
Contributor
Contributor

Maish – thanks for the information. I was hoping that was not the case but suspected it might be something that cannot be done automatically. Do you have any recommendations?

Respectfully,

Jerry Ellis | Systems Analyst | Federal Systems

Unisys | 480 N 2200 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84116 | Office: 801.594.5346 | Cell: 801.420.5032