VMware Cloud Community
Threxx
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VCenter Server installed as a VM within one of the ESXi servers it is managing???

Hi all. I'm new to the world of VSphere... still in my evaluation period.

I've got only one ESXi server running at the moment but plan to add a second one later for high availability, vmotion, general capacity increases, etc. They are/will be running ESXi on internal storage and running the VMs on a shared SAN.

Today I installed VCenter Server 4 on a low end server/desktop I had laying around running XP Pro x64.

As I was installing it I read the install guide and to my surprised it seemed to recommend that I install VCenter Server 4 as a VM on my ESXi host.

Now maybe I've just been spending too much time configuring my new Lefthand SANs which require a 'witness' during failover from one SAN to another... but I was under the impression that VCenter Server wasn't just meant for host configuration, but was also designed to act as a 'witness' or to allow for quorum whenever a failure scenario occurred on one of my ESXi hosts. I also noticed the VCenter Server has a 'heartbeat' port, which I assume would be used for the heartbeats of the ESXi hosts, but maybe it's only used for 'linked mode' with other VCenter Servers (which I was intending to only use one since this is a small scale installation) I was also under the impression that it would be fairly useful in restoring a downed or corrupted ESXi host.

So my question is, if my ESXi host dies, and it's where I have VCenter Server installed, then won't high availability be unable to work? I'm assuming there will be other issues with me being unable to access VCenter Server while I have a downed ESXi host, too, like greater difficulty getting the ESXi back up?