VMware Cloud Community
LukeM_02
Contributor
Contributor

Multiple IP Addresses for 1 VM

Hi,

I want to configure multiple IP addresses to one Virtual Machine. I added an additional 2 Network Adapters, with the mac addresses all manually set.

When i login to the server, I can see that I have 3 IP’s:

IPv4 address for ens160: 148.251.XXX.XXX

IPv4 address for ens192: 148.251.XXX.XXX

IPv4 address for ens224: 148.251.XXX.XXX

The only IP address that is actually functional is ens224. None of the other IP’s respond to pings or anything and are unusable.

This is my netplan config, its just whatever the default was. 

I’ve searched for hours and cant really find any working info. I basically want to be able to use all 3 IP addresses, to access API’s and data cycling the IP addresses. 

Could anyone please provide me any information or pointers / guides as to what I should be changing to get this working? I am not a networking professional, so will need some good advise 🙂

0 Kudos
5 Replies
ThompsG
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hi @LukeM_02 and welcome to the room!

Before we start, maybe step back from the cliff 🙂 That's better, now to ask a few questions before leaping in.

Firstly, just trying to get a handle on what you are hoping to achieve with the 3 IP addresses? You mention accessing API and data cycling using all 3 IP addresses but I'm not sure this is going to work the way you expect. Without going too deeply, the networking stack in the guest machine will try to work out which interface has a path to the external resource and does this using the Default Gateway and Routes. 

It is best to just have 1 Default Gateway and you 'tie' this to a particular network adapter, so it acts like a path of last resort. Then you create routes so that other traffic goes over the other network adapters based on destination subnet/IP (yes lots of networking terms here).