VMware Cloud Community
goofygoose
Contributor
Contributor

VMFS3 for MSCS shared storage, why not?

From the paper on configuring MSCS across physical hosts on ESX3.5, it was stated that RDM be used for the quorum and all other shared disk volumes.

I have been wondering why can't the quorum and shared storage be on vmfs3 partitions instead. I have a large number of MSCS clusters to be set up and using vmfs3 for shared storage will definately make the SAN administration a lot easier, not to mention the large number of LUNs that will be required to be configured on my storage controller and risk exceeding the maximum number of LUNs it can support.

Hence, I have set up a 2 node MSCS cluster across 2 different hosts, using a shared vmfs3 partition on a shared iscsi target. The shared vmdk files (of type eagerzeroedthick) for the quorum and shared storage were created at the service console using vmkfstool. The scsi controller for the quorum disk and shared disks is of type "LSI Logic" and "Physcial" mode.

The rest of the configurations were followed using the vmware MSCS configuration guide and the Microsoft MSCS configuration guides. The 2 guest OS are windows server 2003 enterprise editions.

The MSCS installation and configurations were successfully completed and my initial testings looks good, with the nodes being able to failover well in both planned and unplanned scenerios.

So my big question is... what's wrong with using vmfs3 for the quorum (and shared storage) instead of RDMs??

0 Kudos
32 Replies
aleph0
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

are those VMs linux or Windows?

do you just increase vCPU without reinstalling windows? if yes, you are using thesingle cpu kernel...

if it's linux are you using the right (SMP) kernel?

what about %RDY time in esxtop: what's the value?

\aleph0

(in italian)

###############

If you found this information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful". Thanks!!!